Odisha Bypoll: Huge Gain For BJD’s Bijaya Shankar Das In Tirtol

Jagatsinghpur: The BJD is all set to retain the Tirtol assembly constituency in Odisha’s Jagatsinghpur district with party candidate Bijaya Shankar Das widening the lead by 23,043 votes after the 15th round of counting.

Bijaya polled in 50503 votes while his nearest rival BJP’s Rajkishore Behera got 27460. Congress candidate Himanshu Bhusan Mallick garnered 13344 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the demise of BJD leader and former Tirtol MLA Bishnu Charan Das. BJD fielded his son Bijaya as its nominee for the bypoll

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.