Odisha claims team title in carrom tourney


Bhubaneswar: Rinky Rayant of Jharkhand and Ranabir Mallick of West Bengal-B bagged the women and men’s singles titles respectively in the three-day IA and AD East Zone Carrom Tournament, which concluded at AG Office here on Friday.
Rinky edged out Kavitha Rani by 20-8, 8-24 and 24-13 while in the men’s final Ranabir defeated Adarsh K Gupta of Jharkhand by 24-4, 24-1.
Similarly, Abul Hasnat of the West Bengal-A emerged champion in the veteran singles category.
Earlier, Five members Odisha team, comprising SP Mohanty, Gyana Chandra, PK Maharana, Raju Kumar and a stand-by player, claimed the team title by defeating Bihar by 2-1.
The champion and runners up players of all the categories will represent East Zone in the inter-zonal meet to be held at Guwahati, Assam, in September.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.