Odisha Cyclist Swasti Singh Bags Ekalabya Puraskar 2022

Bhubaneswar: International cyclist Swasti Singh is the proud winner of the prestigious 30th Ekalabya Puraskar, for the year 2022.

Ekalabya Puraskar committee members, from different walks of life, were unanimous in selecting Swasti at a meeting held here on Sunday.

She will receive a cash award of Rs 5 lakh and a citation at the Ekalabya Puraskar programme.

Two promising international sportspersons — woman football player Pyari Xaxa and hockey player Shilanand Lakra – will also be felicitated and presented Rs 50,000 each along with citations.

Swasti has represented Odisha in several national events and bagged 2 gold and 2 silver medals.

Ekalabya Puraskar was instituted in 1993 by IMPaCT, the charitable wing of India’s leading Ferro Alloys producer IMFA.

“IMPaCT has been in continuous pursuit to recognize and foster excellence in sports and literature besides contributing to the general welfare of the society at large. Ekalabya Puraskar is instituted to encourage and inspire young sports persons to perform at national and international arena,” said Baijayant Panda, Chairperson of Ekalabya Puraskar Committee and Trustee of IMPaCT, while announcing the names of this year’s award winners.

Shuttler Rutaparna Panda was conferred with the Ekalabya Puraskar 2021.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.