Odisha Elections 2024: BJP Appoints Samir Dash As State Spokesman

Bhubaneswar: Odisha unit of BJP has appointed Samir Ranjan Dash and Tapan Kumar Chand as state spokespersons of the party.

The BJP’s state president Manmohan Samal has appointed Dash and Chand as spokespersons in order to further strengthen the media cell of the party, stated a press release on Monday.

Dash has also been appointed as election supervisor of BJP for Nimapara, Kakatpur, Pipili and Satyabadi Assembly seats.

Dash, who is the sitting MLA of Nimapara, joined BJP on Sunday after resigning from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) earlier. A former minister, Samir quit BJD after the ruling party did not nominate him for 2024 elections.

Notably, Dash won three consecutive Assembly polls in 2009, 2014, and 2019 from Nimapara constituency on BJD ticket. He has also served as the School and Mass Education Minister in the Naveen Patnaik’s Cabinet.

Kharavela Swain Expelled

In another development, the BJP has expelled its senior leader from Balasore Kharavela Swain, Bijay Kumar Sethi from Remuna, Dibyakam Mohanty from Jaleswar, Kali Charan Patra from Udala, Jugal Kishore Nayak from Karanjia and Kabir Das from Bari for anti-party activities.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.