Odisha Elections 2024: Congress Announces Candidates For 8 Lok Sabha, 49 Assembly Seats

Bhubaneswar: The Congress on Tuesday announced the first list of candidates for eight Lok Sabha and 49 Assembly seats in Odisha.

The party has re-nominated Saptagiri Ulaka for Koraput Parliamentary constituency, which he represents in the outgoing Lok Sabha.

As per the list released by the All India Congress Committee (AICC), former MP Sanjay Bhoi has been fielded from Bargarh Lok Sabha seat, while Janardhan Dehury will contest from Sundagarh. Cinestar Manoj Mishra, who recently joined the Congress, will fight from Balangir Lok Sabha  seat in his maiden electoral battle.

Similarly, former MLA Bhujabal Majhi will contest Lok Sabha elections from Nabarangpur constituency. His daughter, Lipika Majhi, will contest from Dabugam Assembly seat.

Congress heavyweights, including OPCC president Sarat Pattanyak, Odisha Congress Campaign Committee chief Bhakta Charan Das and Odisha Congress Campaign Committee coordinator Bijay Patnaik will contest assembly elections from Nuapada, Narla and Parlakhemundi, respectively.

⁠Sitting MLAs Ramesh Jena, Tara Prasad Bahinipati, Santosh Singh Saluja have been re-nominated by the party.

⁠Former Indian hockey player Prabodh Tirkey will contest assembly polls from Talsara, while BJD defector Balabhadra Mahi has been given Congress ticket for Lanjigarh assembly seat.

Former MLAs Kishore Chandra Patel and Ramachandra Kadam will also enter assembly poll fray.

Similarly, ⁠Samarendra Mishra and Sagar Charan Das, sons of veteran leaders Narasingha Mishra and Bhakta Charan Das respectively, will contest assembly polls from Balangir and Bhawanipatna respectively.

The list includes six women MLA candidates and one woman MP candidate.

List of Congress Candidates For Lok Sabha Seats:


List of Assembly Candidates:



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.