Odisha Elections: Cong Candidate Bhujabal Majhi Files Nominations For Nabarangpur LS Seat

Nabarangpur: Congress candidate for election to Odisha’s Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency Bhujabal Majhi filed his nomination papers on Thursday.


Majhi is the first candidate to file the nomination papers after the Election Commission of India (ECI) issued notification for first phase of Lok Sabha elections on the day.

Majhi along with his supporters went to the collectorate and submitted his papers to district election officer and collector Dr Kamal Lochan Mishra.

Speaking to the media later, Majhi said the voters wanted a change of government both at the Centre and the state. “With the support of the people, the Congress will come out victorious in Nabarangpur Parliamentary constituency and all seven Assembly segments under it in the election,” he said.

Earlier in the day, State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunja Bihari Dhal said with notification issued for the first phase election in Odisha, the filing of nominations for four parliamentary constituencies – Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Koraput and Berhampur – and 28 Assembly seats has been started. It will continue till April 25.

While the nomination papers will be scrutinised on April 26, the candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till April 29. The first phase of the elections will be held in the state on May 13.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.