Odisha Fights Corona: Three Panchayats In Bhadrak Declared Containment Zones


Bhadrak: A day after Bhadrak reported three COVID-19 positive cases, the district administration on Tuesday declared three panchayats in two blocks as containment zones.

The three panchayats are Chudamani and Kismat Krushnapur in Basudevpur block and Charigaon in Bonth block, Bhadrak Collector Gyana Ranjan Das said.

The collector said the three patients had travel history to West Bengal and therefore the areas were declared as containment zones to check the spread of the virus.

He said that public will not be allowed to move in or out of the zones during the containment period and all residents in those areas will strictly remain at home.

Also, all trading establishments, government and private institutions within the boundaries of the containment zones will be closed immediately. However, the supply of essential items and medical requirements will be ensured through various teams formed by the district administration.

Das said that the block development officers (BDOs) concerned will remain in charge as the supervising officers of the containment zones.

Any violation of the order will entail prosecution under the penal provisions of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 and IPC, he pointed out.

The collector also said that the district administration has intensified surveillance with door-to door surveys in 32 gram panchayats in seven blocks with focus on IEC (Information Education Communication) activities including social distancing, hand wash and use of masks and detection of the virus with the support of ASHA and Anganwadi workers.

He said that for overall supervision and monitoring of COVID-19 management activities, the following officers have been assigned charge of the following blocks and urban local bodies (ULBs).

Shyambhakta Mishra, ADM (General): Bhadrak block & Bhadrak Municipality
Arun Kumar Mohapatra, ADM (Revenue): Chandbali & Tihidi block, Chandbali NAC
Madhusudan Dash, PD DRDA: Basudevpur block & Basudevpur Municipality
Pitambar Samal, Sub-Collector: Dhamnagar & Bhandaripokhari Block, Dhamnagar NAC
Rajendra Panda, Additional PD (Admn), DRDA: Bonth block.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.