Odisha Government Bestows ‘Suraj Award’ Posthumously On Three Cadaveric Donors

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government presented the ‘Suraj Award’ posthumously to three female cadaveric donors on the occasion of World Organ Donation Day on August 13.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik honoured late P Priyankarani Patra of Digapahandi, late Suchitra Das of Bhubaneswar and late Rajalakshmi Das from Delang with the Suraj Award and felicitated their kin through video conference.

The next of kin of all three cadaveric donors were given Rs 5 lakh each from the Chief Minister’s Relief Fund (CMRF).

“In November 2019, Suraj Behera of Bhanjanagar, Ganjam district donated heart, liver, kidney and eyes and saved six lives which is not a small thing. Suraj’s parents took a bold decision to donate his organs when he went into comatose following an accident. His parents have set an example for others,” said the Chief Minister.

“In the memory of Suraj and to encourage cadaveric donation in the state, I announced the Suraj Award on November 11, 2019. His family’s sacrifice and courage are lighting up the lives of others,” Patnaik added.

Among others who were present at the virtual ceremony were Additional Chief secretary, Health department, PK Mohapatra, 5T Secretary VK Pandian, Health Minister Naba Das, Assembly Speaker SN Patro and Minister Ashok Panda.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.