Odisha Govt Announces Nominees Of Dharmapada Award For 5 Years


Bhubaneswar: The Odia Language Literature and Culture department on Friday announced the names of five eminent persons from the field of art who will be presented the Dharmapada Awards for 2016 to 2020.

Announcing the names of the persons to be conferred the award, Odia Language Literature and Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi at the Sanskruti Bhawan here, said eminent painter Mahendra Prasad Mahapatra will be awarded for this year.

While eminent ‘pattachitra’ artist Binod Maharana will be awarded for 2019, painter Jagadish Chandra Kanungo has been selected for 2018. Well-known sculptor Shyam Sundar Patnaik has been nominated for 2017 and acclaimed painter Banabihari Parida for 2016.

Each recipient of the Dharmapada Award, which is the highest award in the field of art of Odisha Lalit Kala Akademi, will receive a cheque of Rs 5 lakh and a copper plaque.

Besides, 25 achievers in the field of art will be felicitated by the Akademi. They will be presented a cheque of Rs 1 lakh and a copper plaque each.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.