P T Usha Takes Oath As RS Member: Check Some Other Indian Sportsperson-MPs

New Delhi: Former sprint queen P T Usha on Wednesday took oath as a Rajya Sabha member. She was nominated to the Upper House by the government on July 6 along with music composer Ilaiyaraaja, philanthropist Veerendra Heggade and film director K V Vijayendra Prasad.

Here’s a list of some famous Indian sportsperson-MPs.

Harbhajan Singh

The former Indian cricketer took oath as a member of the Rajya Sabha from Punjab on July 18.

Sachin Tendulkar

The cricket icon was a Rajya Sabha MP from 2012 to 2018. He donated his entire salary and allowances as Rajya Sabha MP to the Prime Minister’s Relief Fund. Tendulkar was nominated to the Upper House by Manmohan Singh’s UPA-II government while he was still an active cricketer on April 27, 2012. He retired from the game in November 2013 and served as an MP till March 26, 2018.

Dilip Tirkey

The famous hockey player from Odisha was elected unopposed in 2012 to the Rajya Sabha as one of three BJD candidates.

Mary Kom

Mary Kom was nominated to the Rajya Sabha by Narendra Modi’s NDA government, beginning her term on April 26, 2016.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore

The Olympic medallist, former shooting champion and retired Indian Army officer is a Lok Sabha MP from Jaipur Rural seat.

Mohammad Azharuddin

He won the 2009 general elections from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh to become an MP.

Gautam Gambhir

The cricketer is a Lok Sabha MP since 2019.

Navjot Singh Sidhu

He was nominated to the Rajya Sabha in 2016 from Punjab.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.