Para Shuttler Pramod Gets Biju Patnaik Sports Award, Angul Girl Felicitated For Bravery

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik gave away the Biju Patnaik Sports, Bravery and Social Service awards on the occasion of National Sports Day on Thursday.

The awards were given at a function at Jayadev Bhawan here.

The Biju Patnaik Sports Award was conferred on para shutter Pramod Bhagat, who was away in New Delhi to receive the Arjuna Award.

The World No 1 had recently won two gold in men’s singles and men’s doubles at the the BWF Para Badminton World Championships.

A native of Bargarh district, he will receive a cash award of Rs 2 lakh and another Rs 30.95 lakh for winning the gold medal in BWF World Para badminton championship (singles and doubles), gold medal (singles and doubles) in 3rd National Para Badminton Championship 2019 and bronze in mixed double event in 3rd National Para Badminton Championship 2019.

Among those felicitated were six sportspersons.

India’s fastest woman Dutee Chand was rewarded with Rs 6.67 lakh for winning the gold medal in 100 metres at the 30th World University Games.

Three weightlifters — Bhakta Ram Desti, Jhili Dalbehera and Senha Soren — received Rs 1.33 lakh, Rs 4 lakh and Rs 83,000, respectively for outstanding performances in international sports.

Bhakta and Jhili had won the gold in 49 kg youth U17 Championship 2019 and 45 kg women event, respectively, while Senha clinched the silver medal in 45 kg junior U20 women event at the Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship 2019.

Babulu Munda was awarded Rs 42,000 for winning the silver medal at the Junion Asian Wushu Championship this year.

KIIT University was also conferred with Biju Patnaik Sports Award for best contribution to promotion of sports and games.

The Chief Minister felicitated Srimati Bhadra from Ghantapada in Angul district with Biju Patnaik Bravery Award, which carries a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh, for her chivalry. The little girl had saved her friend from a train mishap.

Radhakant Tripathy (Bhadrak), Badri Mishra (Puri), Mahendra Joshi (Nuapada), Kamakshya Majhi (Koraput), Ram Dash (Balangir) and Abdul Khan (Keonjhar) were awarded the Biju Patnaik State Award for social service. They received Rs 25,000 each.

Naveen expressed pride over the achievements of sportspersons from Odisha in national and international events and said that their contribution to sports will continue to inspire young talents.

“Bhubaneswar has earned the tag of Sports Capital of India after successfully organising Asian Athletic Championship, Men’s Hockey World League Final and Men’s Hockey World Cup here. We are now going to organize Under 17 Women’s Hockey World Cup. It has been internationally certified for organizing sports events,” he said.

“Agreements have been inked with various established training institutes to impart coaching to promising young sportspersons in the fields of athletics, football, tennis, badminton and other games and sports,” he added.

Odisha Sports and Youth Services Minister Tusharkanti Behera, Youth Welfare Board Working President Bijay Nayak, Sports Secretary Vishal Dev and Sports Director Vineel Krishna were also present on the occasion.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.