President’s Award To Be Conferred On Odisha’s 10 Freedom Fighters

Bhubaneswar: President’s Award will be conferred on 10 freedom fighters of Odisha for their contribution to India’s independence movement on August 9.

The prestigious award is normally given away by the President of India at a glittering ceremony in Presidential Estate in Raisina Hill, New Delhi every year on the Quit India Day on August 9. The day is also celebrated as August Kranti Diwas.

According to official sources, the ceremony will not be organised this year due to COVID-19 pandemic. Instead, the district magistrates will personally visit the awardees’ residence and honour them with the award amid the COVID-19 guidelines.

The award will be conferred on freedom fighters Nilamani Samal of Jajpur district; Ramahari Goswami, Gourishyama Goswami, and Braja Kishore Rout of Bhadrak; Iswara Bisoi and Sahadeb Behera of Nayagarh; Biswanath Das of Jagatsinghpur; Debananda Gupta of Sambalpur; Makardhwaj Das of Kendrapara and Dadhichi Sahoo of Jajpur.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.