Promotion: Shubman Gill Named Captain For Zimbabwe Series; Check Full Squad

Mumbai: Shubman Gill must have been disappointed to be left out of India’s campaign in the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup.

Not part of the 15-member squad, Gill was named as one of four travelling reserves. And once India’s preliminary league fixtures in the USA ended, Gill and Avesh Khan were sent home.

Gill, however, is still considered very highly by Indian selectors and team management.

If proof was needed, it came in the form of the talented Gill being named Team India’s captain for the tour of Zimbabwe next month.

Gill will lead a 15-member squad which will play 5 T20 Internationals in Zimbabwe – on July 6, 7, 10, 13 and 14.

Gillm who led the Gujarat Titans in IPL 2024 after Hardik Pandya switched back to Mumbai Indians, has been considered to be leadership material by several pundits.

Though several established players are missing from the squad, Gill will be leading senior players like Sanju Samson and Ruturaj Gaikwad.

The likes of Abhishek Sharma – who many felt should have been in the T20 World Cup squad – along with IPL stars Riyan Parag and Nitish Reddy have also been named in the Zimbabwe-bound squad.


Ꮪhubman Gill (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.