Ranji Trophy: Odisha Drop Anshuman Rath For Match Against UP

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha selectors have left out Anshuman Rath from the squad which will travel to Meerut for the Ranji Trophy clash against Uttar Pradesh from January 17.

The 25-year-old Rath played his first Ranji match of the season against Himachal Pradesh earlier this week, managing scores of 3 and 12.

Odisha were on course to victory on the final day only to go down by 3 wickets in a thrilling finish.

The defeat all but ended Odisha’s hopes of making the knockout round, as they are in 7th place out of 8 teams with just 7 points from 5 matches.

Rath apart, the Odisha team management may effect one or two more changes in the playing XI for the upcoming match. Abhishek Raut and Rajesh Dhupar may get the nod.

Meanwhile, Odisha will go into their U-25 CK Nayudu Trophy match against Himachal Pradesh with an unchanged squad. Veer Surendra Sai Stadium in Sambalpur will stage the match.


Subhranshu Senapati (captain), Subham Nayak, Anurag Sarangi, Jayanta Behera, Shantanu Mishra, Suryakanta Pradhan, Kartik Biswal, Tarini Sa, Govind Poddar, Prayash Singh, Abhishek Raut, Sunil Kumar Roul, Rajesh Dhupar (WK), Rakesh Pattnaik, Sujit Lenka (WK), Basant Mohanty.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.