Ranji Trophy: Odisha Register Narrow Win Over Haryana

Cuttack: Odisha registered victory over Haryana by one wicket on the fourth and final day of the Group-C Ranji Trophy match at Chaudhry Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium in Rohtak, Haryana, on Tuesday.

Chasing 179 runs for victory, Odisha in their second innings lost 7 wickets for 147 runs on the third day with Rajesh Dhuper and Rajesh Mohanty remaining unbeaten on 29 and 4 runs respectively.

The visiting team lost the wicket of Dhuper (32) early, but Rajesh Mohanty held his nerve and contributed 21 useful runs before getting out.

However, the two tail-enders Basant Mohanty (6) and Pappu Roy (4) managed to hold on and pulled out a thrilling win.

Seamer Suyakant Pradhan was adjudged the Man of the Match for claiming 11 wickets.

With this win, Odisha bagged 6 points and made it to the top of the Group-C.

Brief score: Haryana: 90 and 160; Odisha 160 and 182 for 9.

This was Odisha’s fourth consecutive win in the Ranji Trophy this season. Earlier, Odisha had won by an innings and 3 runs against Chhattisgarh on December 9. It had then trounced Services by an innings and 31 runs on December 17 and Chhattisgarh by 10 wickets on December 28.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.