Sanjeeb Panigrahi Takes Oath As Judge Of Orissa High Court

Cuttack: Sanjeeb Kumar Panigrahi took oath as the new judge of the Orissa High Court here on Monday. He was administered oath of office and secrecy by  Acting Chief Justice of the High Court Sanju Panda.

With his appointment, the number of judges in the High Court rose to 14.

On February 7, President Ram Nath Kovind had approved his appointment as a  judge of Orissa High Court.

In October last year, the Supreme Court collegium had recommended Panigrahi’s name as a judge of the High Court.

The Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court in May 2019 had recommended the names of eight advocates – Gautam Mukherji, Samir Kumar Mishra, Prasanna Kumar Parhi,  Savitri Ratho,  Prafulla Kumar Rath, Durga Prasad Nanda, Pravat Kumar Muduli, and Sanjeeb Kumar Panigrahi for appointment as judges.

While Savitri Ratho’s elevation has been deferred, the collegium has remitted the names of six other advocates to the High Court.

Panigrahi had earlier represented the Odisha government in several cases in the Supreme Court.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.