Seven From Odisha To Be Conferred Padma Awards; Padma Bhusan For Eminent Writer Pratibha Ray

Bhubaneswar: Eminent Odia writer Pratibha Ray will be conferred with Padma Bhushan award this year.

The Ministry of Home Affairs on Tuesday announced names of 128 personalities from different fields who will be conferred with Padma awards by the President. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri awards.

While 34 awardees are women, the list also includes 10 persons from the category of foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 posthumous awardees.

From Odisha, well-known Odia writer Pratibha Ray has been nominated for Padma Bhushan for her contribution to literature and education.

Besides, five other personalities from the state have been announced by the Ministry for Padma Shri award. They include Srimad Baba Balia for social service, Pramod Bhagat for sports, Aditya Prasad Dash for science and technology, Shyamamani Devi for arts and Narasingha Prasad Guru for literature and education.

Another Odia personality, Guru Prasad Mohapatra, from New Delhi will also be conferred with Padma Shri posthumously in the category of civil service. Son of renowned Odia writer Mohapatra Neelamani Sahoo, Guruprasad was a Gujarat cadre IAS officer and died due to COVID last year.

Shyamamani Devi 

 Srimad Baba Balia

Guru Prasad Mohapatra

Narasingha Prasad Guru

Aditya Prasad Dash

Pramod Bhagat

The Padma awards, considered one of the highest civilian awards of the country, will be conferred by the President at a ceremonial function in Rashtrapati Bhawan in March-April.

Also ReadPadma Vibhushan For CDS Bipin Rawat, Padma Bhushan For SII CEO Cyrus Poonawala, Bharat Biotech Founders

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.