Shardul, Shami Come Back To Indian Squad For ODIs in South Africa

New Delhi: India is all set to take on mighty South African after a successful home series. Seamers Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Shami have been recalled to the Indian ODI squad that has been picked for the six-match ODI series in South Africa.

Full time skipper Virat Kohli, who was rested from the team’s most recent limited-overs assignment, against Sri Lanka, returns as captain of the 17-member touring party.

Kedar Jadhav, who suffered a hamstring injury in early December and has not played any cricket since, has also been picked. Thakur too had a problem with his shoulder recently, leading to his missing Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy quarter-final on December 7 and both players are expected to be on the park very soon to prove their match fitness.

The series begins with the first of six matches in Durban on February 1. Batsman KL Rahul and the senior spin pair of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja continue to miss out after the selectors felt Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel deserved an extended run following their good performances in the last few months.

India ODI squad

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.