Sharing A Netflix Password? Bad News In Store For You
Your days of Netflix binging on shared passwords with friends might soon get over. Everyone watches Netflix around the world, and almost half of those people do it on someone else’s Netflix subscription. Netflix is now cracking down on those shared passwords, News18 reported.
The company is testing a new log-in warning that is said to prevent unauthorised password sharing. “If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching,” the warning states, according to reports. Netflix says that the feature is currently being tested and hence, is only seen on limited Netflix accounts for now.
“This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorised to do so,” a Netflix spokesperson was quoted as saying. Viewers can delay the verification and keep watching Netflix. The message may reappear when they open Netflix again, and eventually, they could be required to open a new account to continue streaming. During the feature’s trial, users can verify they are allowed to access the account by a code, sent via text or email. Netflix’s terms of service state that a customer’s account for the streaming service may not be shared with individuals beyond your household, the report added.
Comments are closed.