Shiv Sunder Das appointed coach of Odisha Ranji team

Cuttack: Former Indian cricketer Shiv Sunder Das took over as coach of Odisha Ranji Cricket team on Thursday replacing another former international cricketer Debashis Mohanty.
Mohanty, a medium-fast bowler, had earlier expressed his unwillingness to continue in the post citing personal reasons. He had not even accompanied the Odisha team for two matches. Mohanty was serving as the coach of the Odisha cricket team since January 2011 succeeding Australia’s Michael Bevan.
Das had represented India in 23 Test matches and scored 1,326 runs at an average of 38.91.
According to Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) sources, Suresh Kumar, Kulamani Parida and Subrat Behera have been appointed coaches of U-23, U-19 and U-16 Odisha Men’s Cricket teams, respectively. Similarly, Rashmita Mohanty has been selected as the coach for Women Senior and U-23 team and Itishree Pattnaik as the coach of Women U-19 team.
This apart, Bishnudev Mohanty took over as the chairman of the selection committee for Ranji and U-22 teams while Deepak Mangaraj will serve as the chairman of the committee for Junior U-19 and U-16 teams. Bidhan Chandra Rout has been appointed as the chairman of women’s selection committee, the sources added.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.