Six Performing Artistes From Odisha To Receive Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards For 2022 & 2023

Bhubaneswar: Six Odisha artistes from various fields of performing arts have been selected for Sangeet Natak Akademi awards for 2022 and 2023.


Sangita Gosain, scholar-vocalist and an Associate Professor in Utkal University of Culture, will receive Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (Akademi Puruskar) for her contribution to Odissi music for 2023. Snehaprava Samantaray, an eminent dancer and former lecturer of Utkal Sangeet Mahavidyalaya, will be conferred the Akademi award for 2023 for Odissi.

Odissi dancer Debasish Pattnaik and folk dancer and musician Alok Bishoyi have been chosen for Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar-2023 for their achievements as promising young artistes.

For 2022, guru Niranjan Rout has been selected for Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (Akademi Puruskar) and Arupa Gayatri Panda for the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar in the category of dance for Odissi.

The general council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi, on Tuesday announced the names of 92 artistes from the field of music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/ theatre, puppetry and overall contribution/scholarship in the performing arts for Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) and 80 young artists for Sangeet Natak Akademi Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for 2022 and 2023.

The Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards, the highest national recognition given to practising artistes, gurus and scholars, are being conferred since 1952. The award carries a cash reward Rs 1 lakh besides a ‘tamrapatra’ and ‘angavastram’. The Sangeet Natak Akademi fellowships and awards will be conferred by the President of India in a special investiture ceremony.

The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar, carrying a purse money of Rs 25,000 besides a ‘tamrapatra’ and ‘angavastram’, will be conferred by the Chairman of Sangeet Natak Akademi in a special ceremony.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.