Stop Ragging In Educational Institutions, UGC Tells States


Bhubaneswar: The University Grants Commission (UGC), in pursuance of the directive of the Supreme Court, has directed all the union territories and states, including Odisha, to take immediate steps to checking ragging on the campuses of the higher education institutions from the current academic session.

The Commission has directed the states to strictly implement the following guidelines in the higher education institutions:

1. Formation of anti-ragging committees and squads and cells.
2. Mention anti-ragging warning in the prospectus and information brochures
3. Update websites of the institutions with complete address and contact details of nodal officers related to anti-ragging committees.
4. Installation of CCTV cameras at key locations on the campus
5. Mandatory submission of online undertaking by the students and guardians to comply with UGC regulations.
6. Surprise inspections of hostels, canteen, rest rooms, recreation hall, toilets and bus stands.
7. Organise anti-ragging workshops and seminars.
8. Safety and security apps to report ragging cases without affecting the privacy of the students falling victim to such unethical practices.
9. Violation of these guidelines or failure by the universities in the strict implementation of these guidelines and punishing the offenders will be dealt with under the UGC Act.

Besides, UGC has also appealed the ragging victims to inform about their plight either on the toll-free national anti-ragging helpline 1800-180-5522 or through the e-mail [email protected]

According to available data, 3,022 ragging cases were reported between 2013 and 2017. More than 500 cases were reported in 2018 alone.

While Uttar Pradesh tops the ragging list, several ragging cases have been reported from Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Odisha, Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Kerala, Rajasthan and Karnataka in last six years.

On the contrary, no ragging cases have been reported from Nagaland, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar till 2017.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.