T20 World Cup: Fit-Again Bumrah, Harshal Return; Ashwin Makes Cut; 2 Keepers Named

Mumbai: Fit-again pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have been named in the Indian squad for next month’s T20 World Cup to be held in Australia.

Both Bumrah and Harshal had missed out India’s last few assignments, including the Asia Cup, as they were nursing injuries.

The experienced Bhuvneshwar Kumar and young Arshdeep Singh, along with all-rounder Hardik Pandya complete the five-man pace attack.

Three spinners have been named in the 15-strong squad. Leggie Yuzvendra Chahal’s selection was on expected lines and left-arm spinner Axar Patel was a like-for-like replacement of Ravindra Jadeja, who recently underwent a knee injury. But 35-year-old offie Ravichandran Ashwin was a surprise inclusion, ahead of the likes of Ravi Bishnoi and Kuldeep Yadav.

The team’s thinktank and selectors also kept faith in veteran wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik, who was part of the Asia Cup squad also. An expert finisher, Karthik’s presence will keep the pressure on first-choice keeper Rishabh Pant.

The batsmen chose themselves. There was never going to be any doubt on Kohli’s selection, after he got back among runs in the Asia Cup and emerged as India’s highest scorer with a tally of 276 including a century which was his first in international cricket in almost three years.

One batsman who may could feel hard done by is Shreyas Iyer. The stylish right-hander is among standby players, along with experienced pacer Mohammed Shami, leggie Ravi Bishnoi and medium-pacer Deepak Chahar


Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-capt), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.