Thunderstorm, Lightning Warning For 18 Odisha Districts

Bhubaneswar: There is a likelihood of lightning and thunderstorm striking some districts of Odisha from February 17.

A weather warning issued by India Meteorological Department on Monday predicted thunderstorm and lightning for 18 districts.

The districts are: Angul, Balasore, Bhadrak, Balangir, Boudh, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Jajpur, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sambalpur and Sonepur.

Thunderstorm with lightning is very likely to occur at one or two places over the districts of Nuapada, Balangir, Kalahandi, Boudh, Sonepur, Sambalpur, Angul, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and Balasore from February 17 to 18 (8.30 am) and over the districts of Nabarangpur, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Rayagada, Ganjam, Nayagarh, Boudh, Angul, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Dhenkanal, Balasore, Bhadrak and Jajpur from February 18 (8.30 am) till the next day.

However, there will be no such activity on February 16, the day of Saraswati Puja.

Meanwhile, the office of Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) has issued advisory to all collectors and concerned authorities asking them to take necessary steps to warn  general public about the weather.

The SRC has also advised that the situation may be closely monitored and action as deemed necessary be taken in case of any eventuality.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.