Tour Of South Africa: 5 From Odisha In Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team

Bengaluru: As many as 5 players from Odisha have found a place in the India junior women’s hockey squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa.

Goalkeeper Madhuri Kindo, defender Mamita Oram, defenders Jyoti Chhatri, Nikita Toppo and forward Sunelita Toppo have been named by Hockey India selectors in the 20-member squad.

The Indian team, led by Preeti with Rutaja Dadaso Pisal as her deputy, will play a series of matches against the South Africa junior women and South Africa ‘A’ between February 17 and 25.

“The tour is a good opportunity to test our young batch of talented players and give them the right kind of exposure. It is important for us to ensure that we continue to give ample playing opportunities to players who are showing signs of progress. We hope to achieve good results on the tour,” said Janneke Schopman, chief coach of Indian women’s hockey team.


Goalkeepers: Kurmapu Ramya, Madhuri Kindo

Defenders: Preeti (captain), Jyoti Singh, Neelam, Mahima Tete, Mamita Oram

Midfielders: Jyoti Chhatri, Manju Chorsiya, Hina Banu, Nikita Toppo, Hritika Singh, Sakshi Rana, Rutaja Dadaso Pisal (vice-captain)

Forwards: Deepika Soreng, Deepika, Sunelita Toppo, Madugula Bhavani, Annu, Taranpreet Kaur

Reserve players: Aditi Maheshwari, Anjali Barwa, Edula Jyothi, Bhumiksha Sahu.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.