Two Odisha State Transport Depots Bag National Fuel Efficiency Award

Bhubaneswar:  The Petroleum Conservation Research Association (PCRA) under the Petroleum & Natural Gas ministry has selected two depots of the Odisha State Road Transport Corporation (OSRTC) for fuel efficiency award.

The OSRTC’s Bhawanipatna (Kalahandi) and Padampur (Bargarh) depots were selected for the award. OSRTC officers will receive the award at the inaugural function of SAKSHAM-2020, a state-level function, organized by PCRA in Bhubaneswar on January 16.

The PCRA had collected kmpl (kilometre per litre) performance data of all State Transport Undertakings between October 2018 and September 2019. It had then submitted the data for 23 depots for the contest. On the basis of the performance criteria, the two depots of Odisha were selected.

OSRTC deputy general manager (technical) Amir Kumar Patnaik said that the PCRA has been helping the state transport corporation in holding regular training programmes for drivers for the past 10 years. During these programmes, the drivers are told about safe driving and fuel conservation. In 2018-19, a total of 150 OSRTC drivers were trained by the PCRA. This has resulted in better awareness among the drivers for fuel-efficient driving, Patnaik added.

Notably, OSRTC had earlier received the best KMPL achiever award by the Association of State Road Transport Undertakings, New Delhi, in mufassil service among 52 State Road Transport Undertakings in the country.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.