Vijay Hazare Trophy: Odisha Dismiss Sikkim’s Challenge To Post 3rd Win

Bengaluru: Odisha made short work of minnows Sikkim in their Vijay Hazare Trophy clash on Sunday.

However, a comprehensive 9-wicket win — their third in six matches — won’t be enough for Odisha to make the knockout stage.

Debabrata Pradhan, Odisha’s leading bowler, delivered again. The right-arm medium-pacer bagged 4/16 in 8.2 overs to skittle out Sikkim for 111 in 34.4 overs. Palzor Tamang was the only batter to cross 15, as he top-scored with 42 while six batters fell for single-digit scores.

Tarani Sa (3/37) backed up Debabrata well, while Rajesh Mohanty, Govinda Poddar and Abhishek Raut bagged one wicket apiece.

Chasing a small target, Odisha lost Shantanu Mishra in the third over. But Sandeep Pattanaik and Kartik Biswal’s unbeaten century partnership gave Sikkim no chance of even a fight.

Brief scores: Sikkim 111 all out in 34.4 overs (Palzor Tamang 42; Debabrata Pradhan 4/16, Tarani Sa 3/37). Odisha 117/1 in 21.5 overs (Sandeep Pattanaik 57*, Kartik Biswal 44*).

Result: Odisha won by 9 wickets.

Group position: Odisha 6th in Group A (12 points in 6 matches)

Odisha’s last match: Vs Mumbai on Dec 5.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.