[Watch] Brajarajnagar Bypoll In Odisha: Parties Take Out Grand Procession For Filing Nominations

Jharsuguda: Nominees of the ruling BJD, BJP and Congress visited the Jharsuguda Sub-Collector’s office on Wednesday to file nomination papers for bypoll to Brajarajnagar in Odisha’s Jharsuguda district, which is scheduled to be held on May 31.

Alaka Mohanty, BJD candidate and wife of late MLA Kishore Kumar Mohanty, filed her nomination in presence of several senior party leaders, including Ministers Susanta Singh, Padmanabha Behera, Tukuni Sahu and Naba Kishore Das.

Speaking to the media, 52-year-old Alaka said that she would campaign for the bypoll with party workers. “I will reach out to the people of my constituency, try to understand their problems and solve them,” she said.

Notably, the bypoll was necessitated due to Mohanty’s death last December and she was closely involved in her husband’s political activities. “The electorate have immense respect for her husband and they are with me,” she added.

Earlier in the day, BJP candidate Radharani Panda accompanied by hundreds of workers arrived at the office in a grand procession to file her nomination paper. “There is a lot of excitement among BJP workers and the electorate, who are hopeful of a better future devoid of ‘goonda raj’ of the BJD,” she said.

Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Ashwini Vaishnaw and Bishweswar Tudu will be campaigning for Radharani, informed party leader Kusum Tete.

She had lost by a margin of 11,634 votes to Mohanty in 2019 assembly polls in a largely direct fight between the two.

Congress’ Kishore Chandra Patel accompanied by several party leaders and supporters also filed his nomination paper. “The ruling parties have been cheating and confusing the electrorate. They have not been able to address the real issues afflicting people. Congress will create awareness among people about this conspiracy, win their support and emerge victorious in the election,” he said.

A former speaker of the Odisha assembly, Patel was elected from Sundargarh assembly seat in 1977, 1980 and 1995.

Once a bastion of the Left and the Congress, Brajrajnagar in Jharsuguda district has elected BJP and BJD MLAs once each. Congress won the seat thrice in a row 2000, 2004 and 2009 with nominee Anup Sai and in 1997 with Keshab Sahoo as its candidate. CPI’s Prasanna Panda was elected for three consecutive terms in 1985, 1990 and 1995.’

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.