[Watch] ‘Daughter of Odisha’ Droupadi Murmu Takes Oath As 15th President Of India

New Delhi:  Droupadi Murmu was administered the oath as 15th President of India by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana in the Central Hall of Parliament on Monday. This was followed by a 21-gun salute.

Addressing the nation, Murmu said that she was honoured to take charge at a time India is completing 75 years of Independence.

“I humbly greet all the fellow citizens from this sacred Parliament, a symbol of the hopes, aspirations and rights of all the citizens of India. Your affection, trust and support will be my greatest strength in discharging my functions and responsibilities,” she said, adding that she was the first President to be born in independent India.


Murmu is the first tribal woman in the country and the second woman after Pratibha Patil to hold the top constitutional post. At 64, she is also the youngest President from a teaching background after Dr S Radhakrishnan (1962-1967), Dr Zakir Hussain (1967-69), Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992-1997), K.R. Narayanan (1997-2002), and Pranab Mukherjee (2012-17).

Earlier in the day, Murmu paid homage to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat. She then met the outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind and his wife Savita Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Following this, outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind and President-elect Draupadi Murmu left Rashtrapati Bhavan for Parliament.

Kovind and Murmu being escorted from Raisina to Vijay Chowk.


The cavalcade escorting President-elect Droupadi Murmu and Ram Nath Kovind was welcomed by Vice President Venakaiah Naidu, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and CJI NV Ramana at Parliament.

The ceremony of assumption of office was attended by Chairman of the Rajya Sabha M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, members of the Council of Ministers, state Governors, Chief Ministers, Heads of Diplomatic Missions, Members of Parliament and principal civil and Military Officers of the Government of India.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and all MLAs from Mayurbhanj, the district in Odisha to which Murmu belongs, were also present.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.