Yediyurappa Wins Trust Vote, Political Stability Returns To Karnataka

Bengaluru: Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa on Monday won the confidence motion in the State Assembly by a voice vote.

The trust vote had become a mere formality for the newly appointed CM.  The disqualification of the 17 rebel MLAs by Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar meant that the BJP would easily sail through in the trust vote.

Congress and JDS did not press for division on the one-line motion moved by Yediyurappa. As the Opposition did not press for division, the Speaker declared that the motion had been passed by a voice vote.

Reports suggested that soon after the trust vote, the Speaker tendered his resignation. This paves the BJP government to appoint a new Speaker for the House.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.