10 More Doordarshan Relay Centres In Odisha To Be Closed

Bhanjnagar: Ten low-power transmission centres of Doordarshan will be closed in six weeks time.

The central government had issued a directive in this regard on February 24.

The centres are Bhanjnagar, Anandapur, Brajarajnagar, Dasarathpur, Dhenkanal, Joda, Karanjia, Khandapada, Mohana and Rajranpur.

These 10 are among 125 low-power transmission centres across the nation that will be closed down.

Ironically, the transmission centre at Bhanjanagar in Ganjam district was recently modernized by spending a huge sum of money.

Set up on the premises of the B-Ed College in 1989 because of the efforts of then MP late Somnath Rath, the 100-watt transmission centre was upgraded to 500 watt about five years ago. However, the new transmission could not be made fully functional due to infrastructure-related issues.

Last year, its tower suffered damages during a thunderstorm and a new one was established about six months ago. Some modernisation work was also carried out.

According to media reports, the relay centre had received a sum for construction of a boundary wall, about three months ago. It is learnt to have been withdrawn.

While people are demanding that the government gives it a second thought as people will be forced to buy DTH to get the channel once the centre is closed, the six employees are clueless about their future, media reports said.

Notably, Chikiti, Kabisuryanagar and G Udayagiri relay centres were closed last year.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.