10 Teams Of Bhubaneswar’s ITER Qualify For Smart India Hackathon 2023

Bhubaneswar: Ten out of 71 teams comprising students of Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER), faculty of engineering and technology of Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA), worked their way through HackerWar 4.0 to qualify for the prestigious Smart India Hackathon (SIH) 2023.

HackerWar 4.0, the 4th edition of ITER’s annual hackathon series, was organised this year on virtual mode on September 16 and 17 by the Computer Science & Engineering (CSE), in collaboration with the institute’s CODEX Club, Centre for Innovation and Incubation (SOA CII) and Atal Innovation Centre-SOA Foundation (AIC SOA), according to CSE Head of Department Prof. Debahuti Mishra.

Besides selecting the teams for SIH 2023, the other objective of this hackathon event was to inspire creativity, problem-solving ability and foster collaborative teamwork among future engineers of the institute, said Prof. Mishra.

Around 450 students (71 teams) from across engineering disciplines participated in HackerWar 4.0.

A jury — comprising Director (Technology & Rural Development) in Department of Telecommunication Subrat Kumar Prusty, along with senior consultants at TCS Srikanta Mohapatra and Biswaranjan Jena — assessed the top 10 projects and chose the winners.

Team HackTivist — comprising Subrat Kumar Sahu, Jiteen Mohanty, Santanu Kumar Mishra, Sunil Kumar Pradhan, K Nameesha and Swetaparna Mishra — was adjudged the top team and received a cash prize of Rs 10,000.

ByteMe and HackSquad teams were placed second and third, for which they received Rs 8,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

The top 10 teams will take part in Smart India Hackathon, an annual flagship initiative of Indian government.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.