11 Degree Colleges To Offer Integrated Teacher Education Course In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Eleven government-run degree colleges and three model degree colleges in the state will offer four-year integrated teacher education programme (ITEP) from 2023-24 academic session.

In a letter to the higher education institutions, principal secretary, Higher Education department Saswat Mishra said the colleges will run the programme in regular mode instead of the two-year Bachelor of Education (BEd) course. Currently, the BEd courses are being run in these colleges in self-financing mode.

However, the higher education institutions including 11 degree colleges like BJB College in Bhubaneswar and SB Women’s College in Cuttack and model colleges in Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur districts have been allowed to make admission of students for BEd course only for 2022-23 session.

The state government issued the direction as per the National Education Policy (NEP)-2020 which was announced by the Ministry of Education in October last year.

As per the notification of the ministry, the dual-major bachelors degree offering BA-BEd, BSc-BEd and BCom-BEd aims at saving one year of the students who can complete the integrated course in four years in place of five years at present.

The state government has also decided that all 16 Teacher Education Institutions (TEIs) will continue to offer BEd course and five of those will also offer MEd course. Accordingly, these institutions have been asked to apply for recognition of these courses to NCTE by May 31.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.