2017 Jeypore Custodial Death: Odisha Crime Branch Registers Murder Case Against 4 Cops

Bhubaneswar: A murder case has been registered against four police officers by the Odisha Crime Branch for alleged involvement in a person’s custodial death at the Jeypore Town police station in Koraput district in 2017.

On January 30, 2017, Akash Mahuria from Jeypore was allegedly thrashed to death inside the Jeypore Town police station. According to the cops, the youth died as he fell while being chased by cops in an attempt to arrest.

Jeypore police station’s former inspector-in-charge Tapan Narayan Rath, former sub-inspectors Siba Prasad Sahu and Rajesh Baliarsingh and former Jeypore sub-divisional police officer Rajendra Prasad Senapati are the four police officers against whom the murder case has been slapped.

The Crime Branch has registered the case under Sections 302, 323, 342, 325, 505 and 34 of the IPC. A Crime Branch team led by ASP Ramchandra Thamba will investigate the matter.

Recently, deceased Akash Mahuria’s mother Prabina Mahuria lodged a complaint with the Crime Branch. She alleged that Tapan Narayan Rath and other cops took his son forcibly and assaulted him at the police station, which was the cause of his death.

ALSO READ: Custodial Death In Bargarh: PIL Filed In Orissa HC For Compensation To Victim’s…

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.