3 Odisha Govt Medical Colleges Upgraded, One Approved In Rourkela In 3 Years

Bhubaneswar: A total of 47 medical colleges, including Odisha’s Hi-Tech Medical College and Hospital in Rourkela, have been recognized by the Medical Council Of India (MCI) during the last three years, a PIB press release said on Tuesday.

The MCI has recognised and permitted an annual intake of 100 MBBS students per batch on or after May 2017.

Under the centrally-sponsored scheme, funds are also being provided for conversion of district hospitals into medical colleges. As of now, 157 such projects across the country have got the nod with funds sharing arrangements between central and state governments.

Under Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY), existing government medical colleges /institutions have been upgraded or are being upgraded through the construction of super specialty block/trauma centre and procurement of medical equipment, the release said.

Funds have been released by Ministry of Health and Family Welfare in phases for construction work and for procurement of medical equipment of three government medical colleges in Odisha- MKCG Medical College (phase-III), Behrampur, VIMSAR (phase-III), Burla, SCB Medical College (phase-IV), Cuttack, among other 75 such projects under PMSSY.

The funds allocated for the three government medical colleges are as below:

  • MKCG: 71.94 Cr for construction and 36 Cr procurement of medical equipment
  • VIMSAR: 45.72 Cr for construction and 46.63 Cr for procurement of medical equipment
  • SCB: 14.61 Cr for construction and 33.85 Cr for procurement of medical equipment

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.