5G To Be Launched In These Cities In First Phase Next Year; Odisha Has To Wait

New Delhi: The Central government has decided on a phased rollout of 5G services in cities where trials are already underway.

According to a Department of Telecommunications (DoT) statement, metros and big cities including Gurugram, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Mumbai, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad and Pune will get 5G services next year.

Odisha will have to wait for 5G as no city, including Bhubaneswar, is on the list for now.

“With regard to rollout of 5G services, Telecom Service Providers (TSPs) M/s Bharti Airtel, M/s Reliance Jio and M/s Vodafone Idea have established 5G trials sites in Gurugram, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Mumbai, Chandigarh, Delhi, Jamnagar, Ahmedabad, Chennai, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Pune, Gandhinagar cities. These metros and big cities would be the first places for launch of 5G services in the country, next year,” the statement said.

Also Read: Delhi HC Dismisses Juhi Chawla’s Petition Against 5G Rollout, Imposes Rs 20 Lakh Fine

The DoT had, in September, sought recommendations from telecom regulator TRAI for auction of 5G spectrum vis-à-vis reserve price, band plan, block size, quantum of spectrum to be auctioned, etc. TRAI is currently consulting on the issue with stakeholders in the industry.

Many in the industry had sought clarity on regulations with regard to 5G rollout.

The Central government plans to hold spectrum auctions for 5G around March-April next year.

Also Read: No Link Between 5G Technology & Spread Of COVID-19, Clarifies Centre

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.