9 Candidates To Contest In Byelection To Odisha’s Jharsuguda Assembly Seat

Bhubaneswar: Total 9 candidates will contest in the byelection to Jharsuguda Assembly constituency in Odisha.

On the last day of withdrawal of nominations on Monday, one of the candidates, Bhubaneswar Gartia, withdrew his papers, according to the office of the Chief Electoral Officer. After scrutiny of the nominations on Saturday, the papers of 10 candidates were found valid.

Besides the candidates of three parties including Dipali Das of ruling BJD, Tankadhar Tripathy of BJP and Tarun Pandey of Congress, Rohidas, Manish Sharma, Mahendra Patnaik, Bijay Jalan, Gyanendra Behera and Mahendra Luha have been left in the fray.

The byelection to the Assembly seat in western Odisha is scheduled to be held on May 10.

The bypoll to the constituency was necessitated following the murder of former Health Minister Naba Kishore Das. Dipali is the daughter of the slain minister.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.