Assembly Bypolls: BJP Wins 4 Including Odisha’s Dhamnagar, Loses 3

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged four of the seven Assembly seats for which byelections were held across six states earlier this month.

Of the seven seats, BJP held three, Congress two, while Shiv Sena and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) held one each before bypolls were necessitated.

BJP candidates emerged victorious in Uttar Pradesh’s Gola Gokrannath, Haryana’s Adampur, Bihar’s Gopalganj and Odisha’s Dhamnagar.

Also Read: BJP Celebrates Odisha’s Dhamnagar Victory With Sweets & Crackers; Check The Final Result

RJD won in Bihar’s Mokama, K Chandrashekar Rao’s Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) won in Munugode and Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena faction won Andheri East seat.

State-wise results


BJP’s Suryabanshi Suraj defeated BJD’s Abanti Das by 9881 votes in Dhamnagar. Suryabanshi received 80,351 votes, Abanti got 70,470 votes.


BJP’s Bhavya Bishnoi, grandson of former Haryana CM Bhajan Lal, beat Congress’ Jay Prakash by 16,606 votes. AAP failed to create an impact.

Uttar Pradesh

BJP’s Aman Giri beat Samajwadi Party candidate Vinay Tiwari by more than 34,000 votes. Akhilesh Yadav had accused ruling BJP of threatening and intimidating voters in the constituency.


BJP retained the Gopalganj seat, with Kusum Devi getting the better of RJD’s Mohan Prasad.

RJD won Mokama, with Neelam Devi retaining her husband’s seat beating BJP’s Sonam Devi.


Andheri East bypoll in Mumbai – first election held after the fall of Uddhav Thackeray in June — was seen as a formality as the Uddhav Sena faction’s Rutuja Latke won the seat vacated following her husband Ramesh Latke’s death. BJP didn’t field a candidate against Rutuja


Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy of ruling TRS won Munugode constituency defeating nearest BJP rival Komatireddy Raj Gopal Reddy by more than 10,000 votes.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.