Belgium Crowned Hockey WC Winners, Odisha To Host Olympic Qualifiers Next


Welcome Belgium to the Winners Group! They won 0-0 (3-2) against Netherlands, who finished runners-up for second consecutive time and overall 4th time, in the finals of Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar on Sunday.

After a goalless draw in four quarters, the teams headed for the shootout which also yielded no result as both sides were locked at 2-2 after five shots.

In sudden death, Belgium’s Florent van Aubel scored in his very first attempt to help his side win the gold while Dutch had to settle for silver with Joreon Hertzberger missing the chance.

5 Key Points of Belgium’s Historic Title Win
6th nation to win Hockey Men’s World Cup.
World Cup got a new winner after 16 years.
Germany won the first time in 2002.
Only UNDEFEATED team in Hockey Men’s World Cup 2018. Belgium won 6, drew 1 with India.
It is the 1st International Major FIH title for Belgium in any event.

Player of the Tournament: Arthur Van Doren (Belgium)
Most Goals (Joint): 7 by Alexander Hendrickx (Belgium)

Expressing satisfaction over the huge success of the tournament, International Hockey Federation (FIH) President Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra on Sunday announced that Odisha will host the Hockey Olympic qualifiers next year.

“We are grateful to the Odisha government, police and people for organising the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018 so successfully. It was a marvelous tournament over here. We are in debt to everyone. And now I feel privilege to announce that the Hockey Olympic qualifiers will also be held here in 2019,” he said while speaking at the award ceremony.


(Info Courtesy:

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.