BJD Wins 278 Panchayat Samiti Chairperson Posts Out Of 314

Bhubaneswar: BJD candidates have been elected to the post of Panchayat Samiti chairperson in 278 out of 314 blocks in Odisha.

Elections to the post were held on Friday. The BJP won in 21 blocks, while Congress candidates won in 13 blocks. CPM candidates won in three blocks. The BJP drew a blank in 17 districts and the Congress in 22 districts.

In percentage terms, the BJD has won 88.5 per cent of the Panchayat Samiti chairperson posts.

The Congress has been routed in the coastal region except Puri. While the BJP put up a good show in western Odisha, it also faced a rout in the coastal regions.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.