BJP Sweeps Tripura Polls, Wins 217 Out Of 222 Seats

New Delhi: The BJP has swept the Tripura civic polls, winning all 14 urban bodies, including the Agartala Municipal Corporation, which went to polls on November 15.

Out of the 222 seats that went to polls, BJP won 217.

CPI(M), which won in all the urban bodies in the last civic body polls, has won three seats.

Trinamool Congress and Tripura royal scion Pradyot Kishore-led TIPRA Motha has won one seat each.

Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb said that this was a “historic” victory and people of Tripura have given a “sothik jobaab”.

“Those who tried to malign Tripura should see…people from majority and minority communities together voted in favour of development under Narendra Modi,” Deb said.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.