COVID-19 Second Wave: Lockdowns Imposed In These States; Check Details

Bhubaneswar: Amid a steep rise in COVID-19 cases, the Rajasthan government has resorted to a 15-day lockdown commencing on Monday and will continue till May 3.

According to the guidelines issued by the home department late on Sunday night, the lockdown period has been named as ‘Public Discipline Fortnight’. All offices barring the essential services shall remain closed.

Shops connected to grocery, fruit, dairy products, etc. shall remain open till 5 pm. Vegetable vendors have been allowed to sell their stuff by till 7 pm. Petrol pumps shall remain open till 8 pm, according to new guidelines.

The bazaars, malls, shopping complexes, cinema halls and all religious places shall remain closed. All the educational institutes, coaching centres, libraries, social and political programmes, etc. have also been suspended, as per the order.

“All commercial offices and markets shall remain closed except the essential services. Commuters from bus stops, metro stations and airports shall have to show tickets to commute, those coming to Rajasthan from other states shall have to show their RT-PCR reports collected within 72 hours of travel.

“Pregnant women will be allowed to travel to hospital. Those going to take Covid shots will be permitted and the PDS shops will also run all through the week. Only 50 people will be allowed to attend wedding parties while 20 for a funeral. Telecom, Internet services, postal services, cable services, etc. will remain open,” the guidelines said.

Here’s a full list of restrictions imposed in different states and union territories:


Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray had declared a 15-day curfew, starting at 8 pm on April 14. The janta curfew will be in effect till 7 am on May 1.

Section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC) will be imposed throughout the state to prevent gatherings.


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal announced a weekend curfew in the national capital on April 15. The weekend curfew was enforced from 10 pm on Friday till 6 am Monday. Only essential services will be exempted from the weekend curfew. Interstate transport will continue.

Curfew passes will be issued by the Delhi government for weddings (up to 50 people) and funerals (up to 20 people).


The Chandigarh administration announced a weekend lockdown in the Union Territory from 10 pm on Friday till 5 am on Monday.

Essential services, including home delivery of food, have been exempted. People travelling to the Union Territory will have to register themselves on the COVA Punjab app.


A statewide lockdown has been enforced in Uttar Pradesh on Sunday. “There will be a weekly closure in all rural and urban areas of the state on Sunday. Only sanitation, sanitisation and emergency services will operate during this period. Necessary awareness works should also be done in this regard,” The Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) said in a statement.

All offices, except for businesses dealing in essential services, will remain closed on Sunday.


The Madhya Pradesh government called the restrictions a part of “corona curfew” rather than a “lockdown”.

Essential services, including industries, medical establishments, construction activities, chemist shops, grocery outlets, etc, will remain open during corona curfew.

RT-PCR test must for passengers arriving from Maharashtra to Indore and Bhopal.


Karnataka has imposed night curfew in seven districts, including Bengaluru, will continue.

Night curfew has been imposed from 10 pm to 5 am in Bengaluru, Mysuru, Mangaluru, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Tumkuru, Udupi, and Manipal.

Negative RT-PCR report has been made mandatory for people arriving in Karnataka from Chandigarh, Kerala, Punjab, and Maharashtra.


Punjab has also imposed a night curfew across the state between 9 pm and 5 am till April 30. All public gatherings have been banned and schools have been shut.


Night curfew has been imposed in Uttarakhand during the ongoing Kumbh Mela. Night curfew is from 10.30 pm to 5 am. Bus, auto-rickshaw, etc will operate with a 50 per cent seating capacity.


Haryana has imposed a night curfew in the state between 10 pm and 5 am, however no lockdown or weekend curfew has been imposed.


Gujarat has imposed a night curfew from 8 pm to 6 am in 20 cities. Night curfew has been imposed in Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar, Junagadh, Gandhinagar, Anand, Nadiad, Mehasana, Morbi, Dahod, Patan, Godhra, Bhuj, Gandhidham, Bharuch, Surendranagar and Amreli.

A negative RT-PCR report is mandatory for those arriving in the state.


The Kerala government has imposed fresh restrictions in place till April 30. Shops have to be closed by 9 pm. People have been asked to order for doorstep delivery services.

200 people have been allowed to attend outdoor functions, while 100 people are allowed in events held indoors.


Chhattisgarh government has imposed lockdown in Sukma and Durg till April 19.


The Jammu and Kashmir administration imposed a night curfew in 8 districts — Jammu, Udhampur, Kathua, Srinagar, Baramulla, Budgam, Anantnag and Kupwara.

ALSO READ: Night Curfew Returns To Urban Areas Of Odisha; Who Is Exempted?

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.