Elections 2020: All 4 Indian-American Lawmakers Re-Elected To US Congress

New Delhi: All four Indian-American Democratic lawmakers in fray — Dr Ami Bera, Pramila Jayapal, Ro Khanna and Raja Krishnamoorthi — have been re-elected to the House of Representatives, lower house of the US Congress.


‘Samosa Caucus’, a term coined by Krishnamoorthi to refer to the group of Indian-American lawmakers, has five members including Senator Kamala Harris, the vice-presidential candidate of Democrats.

Pramila Jayapal defeated Republican rival Craig Keller by a massive 70 percentage points in the seventh Congressional district of Washington state, The Times Of India reported.

Krishnamoorthi easily defeated Preston Nelson of the Libertarian Party with nearly 71 per cent of the total counted votes, as per latest reports. Khanna overcame fellow Indian-American Ritesh Tandon of Republican Party with a margin of more than 50 percentage points.

Bera, the seniormost member of the ‘Samosa Caucus’, had a comfortable win in the seventh Congressional District of California for a fifth consecutive term. He defeated Republican rival 65-year-old Buzz Patterson by 25 percentage points.

The ‘Samosa Caucus’ might expand as physician Dr Hiral Tipirneni was leading against Republican incumbent David Schweikert from the sixth Congressional district of Arizona, PTI reported.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.