Frontline COVID Warrior Tag For Odisha Journalists: CM Naveen Patnaik

Bhubaneswar: In a decision that is going to benefit 6,944 working journalists in Odisha, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday approved a proposal to declare them as frontline COVID warriors.

As per a release by the CM’s office, Naveen said working journalists are doing a great service to the state by providing seamless news feed, making people aware on issues relating to COVID at this very trying time and they are a great support for our war against the disease.

Notably, as many as 6,944 working journalists in Odisha have been covered under Gopabandhu Sambadika Swasthya Bima Yojana. They are getting health insurance cover of Rs 2 lakh each.

Besides, an ex gratia of Rs 15 lakh is also being provided to the next of kin of journalists who die of COVID while performing their duty.

It may be mentioned that four journalists in Odisha had died during the first wave of COVID-19.

During the second wave, as many as 11 journalists have succumbed to the diseaase as on May 1, 2021.

They are:.

1. Jatish Khamari (46), Bolangir- ‘Sambad’
2. Manoj Sahu, Chikiti, Ganjam- ‘Nitidin’
3. Gobind Behera(25), Kukudakhandi, Ganjam- Web TV ‘News6’
4.Manas Jaypuria (49), Sambalpur- ‘Zee Odisha’
5. Amjad Badshah (45), Jharsuguda- ‘Zee Odisha’
6. Bhanuprakash Rath, Bhabanipatna- ‘Naxatra TV’
7. Adwait Prasad Biswal (80), Rourkela- Weekly ‘Sramika Malika’
8. Subash Sahare, Jharsuguda
9. Debendra Samantray, Sambalpur- ‘Sambad’
10. Pritiman Mohapatra, Bhubaneswar- ‘ToI’
11. Sugrib Singh, Kandhamal (Ex-MP)

Also Read: Senior Journalist Pritiman Mohapatra Succumbs To COVID-19 In Bhubaneswar

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.