Gehlot Vs Pilot Rerun: 92 Congress MLAs Resign In Rajasthan

Jaipur: It looks to be a rerun of the tussle between Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot in Rajasthan Congress.

Around 90 Congress MLAs submitted their resignation letters to Rajasthan Assembly Speaker CP Joshi at his residence on Sunday evening to plunge the party into another massive crisis, reported India Today.

The latest development came after 80 legislators of the Gehlot faction adopted a stand earlier this evening against Pilot’s candidature as the state’s next chief minister, if Gehlot is elected Congress president next month.

It was learnt that the meeting, which took place at Cabinet minister Shanti Dhariwal’s residence, agreed that the next CM will be someone who had supported the government during Pilot’s open rebellion in 2020.

Pilot had then shifted to Delhi with 18 MLAs. Following his revolt, Pilot was sacked as Deputy CM and state party chief.

“Talks of changing the chief minister will happen after Ashok Gehlot becomes party president. Of the 102 MLAs, anybody can become the chief minister. Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Ashok Gehlot will decide it,” said Rajasthan minister Pratap Singh Khachariyawas.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.