Google To Auto Delete Data In 18 Months

0

After the clampdown on Chinese apps citing security issues by the government, Google has now made auto-delete as default for new accounts. It will apply to location history, web and app activity as well as YouTube history, said VP-Product Management, Google, Rahul Roy Chowdhary.

Users will now be able to choose whether to delete data automatically in 3 months or 18 months. Users can also delete the data manually.

“Privacy is one of the most important areas of investment, and for this we bring our unique approach to this area, one that’s based on simplicity, deep technical innovation, a spirit of openness,” Roy told Indian Express.

“The first principle is to treat our users in a responsible way. And what that means is being very intentional and thoughtful about what data we collect why we collected, how long we keep before and throughout the entire thing that he showed us. The second principle is to make sure that our users have a sense of agency and a sense of control over how they manage their data privacy is deeply personal and there we can pick reasonable defaults, but privacy is not a one size fits all. And make sure you can make the right choices for data in a simple, easy to use way,” he added.

 

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.