Hockey India Picks Three Odisha Players For Sultan Of Johor Cup

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: Hockey India on Wednesday named an 18-member Indian Junior Men’s Hockey team, including three players from Odisha, for the 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 beginning October 8 at Johor Bahru in Malaysia.

The three Odisha players who have found place in the national team are Shilananda Lakra, Suman Beck and Pankaj Razzak. Shilananda has been appointed as the vice-captain.

Led by Mandeep Mor, the Indian team will play five round-robin matches against Malaysia, New Zealand, Japan, Australia and Great Britain. The top two teams at the end of the round-robin matches will face each other in the final on October 13 while the remaining four teams will play classification matches.

India will play their opening match against hosts Malaysia at 6.05 pm on October 6

The team: Mandeep Mor (captain), Shilanand Lakra (vice-captain), goalkeepers Kamalbir Singh and Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Suman Beck, Mohd Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor, Prince and Varinder Singh (all defenders), Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil and Haspreet Singh (all midfielders), Gursahabjit Singh, Abhishek, Prabhjot Singh and Shilanand Lakra (all forwards).



Comments are closed.