IIT Bhubaneswar Celebrates 7th Annual Convocation

Bhubaneswar: “Excellence begets excellence. Excellence is built not only on intelligence, but also on commitment. If we are committed, the community around us will also excel and prosper,” said Department of Science and Technology, Government India, Secretary Dr. Ashutosh Sharma, while addressing the students of IIT, on its seventh annual convocation on Saturday at the Community Centre in Argul campus, Jatni.

He also said, “The convocation ceremony is also often called   ‘Commencement’. It should  refer to the commencing of our true education and learning! Remember, learning neither begins nor ends in classrooms. It is a life-long love affair.”

Addressing the gathering, Sharma congratulated the students and their mentors for sowing the seeds of innovative ideas in fresh, young and fertile minds. This is clear evidence of IIT Bhubaneswar’s commitment to cutting-edge engineering education and research.

He called upon students to be job creators not to be job seekers.

Today, there is unprecedented global stress and challenges in sustainable economic growth and job creation, but there are also huge opportunities for technology led transformative changes in sectors such as energy, water, environment, transport, cyber physical systems and hygiene and health. A strong team work is the key to the solutions of real interdisciplinary problems, he added.

Board of Governors Chairman, Pankaj Ramanbhai Patel gave guru mantra to the students to aim high, be innovative, respect and trust the surroundings to grow in life.

Inter-disciplinary approach is essential to reach the pinnacle. He impressed upon the students to work hard and contribute significantly to nation building and development of the country.

IIT Director, Prof R.V. Raja Kumar read out the annual report of the Institute and congratulated the Gold Medal winners for their outstanding success. He stressed upon the plans of the alumni to promote interest of the mentor and the country as a whole.

The President of India Gold Medal was awarded to Nanduri Divakar of the School of Mechanical Sciences for best academic performance among the entire outgoing B Tech batch of students.

The Director’s Gold Medal was awarded to Sayan Roy of the School of Basic Sciences for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing
M Sc batch of students.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.