IIT-Bhubaneswar Creates A Difference With Mixed Mode Convocation

Bhubaneswar: In a marked difference from others during the pandemic times, the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Bhubaneswar celebrated its 9th convocation live in mixed mode on Friday.

The graduating students participated and received their degrees and medals live, by online or with physical presence.

Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhariyal ‘Nishank’, who attended the convocation ceremony via video conferencing as the chief guest, called upon the graduating students to “strive hard to cherish their dreams despite enormous challenges to be faced in the times to come”.

The minister also reminded them not to forget the contribution of their alma mater for its innovative teaching, learning and mentoring them to the path of success.

He also complemented IIT-Bhubaneswar for the “outstanding wellness, teaching excellence and research aura the institute has created… facilitating the cream of global class education through several innovations during the pandemic and serving as a role model about which the nation can be proud of”.

IIT-Bhubaneswar Director Prof RV Raja Kumar presented degrees to 35 PhD, 141 MTech. 70 MSc and 200 BTech students received their degrees as well medals at the convocation.

Speaking on the occasion, the director expressed satisfaction in the “grand successes” of the institute in all its innovative endeavours including running “running classes timely, conducting pen and paper comprehensive exams and live convocation” very successfully and at high standards during the pandemic.

Medal Winners

President of India Gold Medal —Aditya Pal (Computer Science and Engineering) for best academic performance among outgoing BTech students

Director’s Gold Medal —Sanket Dey Chowdhury (School of Infrastructure) for best academic performance among outgoing MTech students

Director’s Gold Medal —Souvick Chakraborty (Physics, School of Basic Sciences) for best academic performance among outgoing MSc students

Institute Silver Medals (BTech) — Aditya Pal, Arvind TKR, Abhishek Mishra, Aman Singhal, Manapuram Jyothi Venkata Sai Aditya and Shubhajit Mondal for best academic performance in respective schools

Institute Silver Medals (MTech) —Sanket Dey Chowdhury, Dusane Ajinkya Rajendra, Priyabrata Das, Anoop Kumar Yadav, Gaurab Bhattacharya, Khadke Leena Sanjay and Debjit Rana for best academic performance in respective schools

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.