Implement 10% EWS Quota From Ongoing Session: UGC To 9 Odisha Varsities


New Delhi: The UGC has asked vice-chancellors of state universities across the country, including those in Odisha, to implement 10 per cent quota for students from economically-weaker sections and display the scheme on the university website.

In a communication to 161 state universities, UGC has instructed them to implement it from the ongoing academic session.

The nine universities in Odisha to whom the communication has been sent are Berhampur University, Fakir Mohan University in Balasore, North Odisha University Baripada, Ravenshaw University in Cuttack, Sambalpur University, Shri Jagannath Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya in Puri, Utkal University in Bhubaneswar, National Law University in Cuttack and VSS University of Technology in Burla.

There are a few states such as Tamil Nadu, who have expressed their inability to implement the quota from this academic session because of technical issues.

Some technical universities are also facing challenges implementing because of a ruling of the Supreme Court to close admissions by July 31.

“To admit students after the cut-off date, we need permission from the apex court,” Anna University Vice-Chancellor MK Surappa was quoted by the media as saying.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.